User Roles and Permissions

Every user in your account has a role and every role has a set of permissions. A role should have a set of permissions appropriate for it.

For example, the Writer role can claim tasks and write articles but they shouldn't be able to assign tasks to someone.

Of course, you can customize roles to your liking. For example, the Writer role could be made so that they can assign tasks to someone else, but it kind of defeats the purpose. A good set of roles and permissions should accurately reflect what they are supposed to be and what they are supposed to do. For example, a Fact Checker should be able to do nothing but to check for facts and an Editor should only care about editing articles assigned to them.

Default User Roles

When you create your account, there will be five default user roles: AdminContent ManagerEditorSubject Matter Expert, and Writer.

The Admin, Editor, and Writer roles will be activated by default. The other two, Content Editor and Subject Matter Expert, are deactivated by default (indicated by the lock icon beside the role name).

The default activated roles (admin, writer, and editor) are what we can call the core roles and should be enough for small teams (even larger ones). Those roles have the standard permissions activated for them, which is based on what one would expect from someone with the said roles. So if you want to get straight into creating content, you don't have to worry about setting up roles and permissions.

However, as you progress and your knowledge and experience in using EasyContent deepen, you'll find that you might want to adjust these roles to your liking or even create completely new ones based on your needs.

With that in mind, we're going to see how to create a new role in the next section.

Creating New Roles

To create a new role, simply click the Add new role button, then give your new role a name and optionally a brief description.

By default, a new role will have no permissions. You will have to configure it by using the Permissions section.

Assign Your New Role to a Workflow Status

Your new roles will not be assigned to any workflow status upon creation. This will affect several things on how this role can interact with the app. One example is you might find that your new role can't claim tasks even though it has the right permissions. Make sure you assign the new role to a workflow status in your projects. Keep in mind that different projects have different workflow settings so you will have to associate your new role to a workflow status again on a new or different project.

Learn more about this in our article answering the question "why can't I assign a user to a task or workflow status?"

Configuring Permissions

Configuring permissions is fairly easy. All you have to do is to check the box for the permission you want to activate under a role's name.

The permissions are grouped according to the application area they apply to. For example, the Admin role has all the Account permissions.

What's astonishing here is the number of permissions to choose from. Worry not for we'll guide you! We have a detailed explanation of every permission in EasyContent to help you understand all these items.