What is an Owner Account?

There are two basic types of accounts in EasyContent: Owner Account and Member Account.

An owner account is an account that is registered directly on EasyContent. A member account, on the other hand, is a user who got an invite to register on EasyContent to work on a project owned by someone else. An account can both be an owner account and a member account at the same time.

The Owner Account will always have an admin role, which is called an owner admin. This can't be changed by anyone, not even the Owner Account's user.

Owner Admin vs Regular Admin

Like we've mentioned earlier, the owner admin is the account's owner. However, a member account can also have an admin role. A member account with an admin role is called a regular admin. While the two different types of admin roles have almost completely identical capabilities, there's a few big difference between the two.

In summary:

  • Owner admin will always have access to the roles page regardless of permissions
  • Owner admin can always edit roles and permissions regardless of permissions
  • Owner admin can always create new roles regardless of permissions
  • Owner admin can edit a regular admin's profile if they have the correct permissions
  • Regular admin can't edit an owner admin's profile no matter the permissions

Even if all permissions were to be removed from the admin role, the owner admin will still and will always have access to the Roles page. Not only they can access it, but they can also reconfigure roles and permissions at will. They can even create custom roles and give them custom permissions.

Aside from that difference, there's another one that makes the owner admin distinct from a regular admin. The owner admin's profile can't be edited by a regular admin no matter the permissions, but an owner admin can edit a regular admin's profile if they have the proper permissions.

Learn more about user roles and permissions here.

Account Settings

Only an owner account has access to the account settings regardless of permissions. These are for configuring account-level settings.