Complete Guide to Permissions

This article serves as the ultimate guide about permissions in EasyContent.

Account Permissions

Manage projects

Users with this permission can:

  • Create, rename, delete, and archive a project
  • Restore or delete an archived project
  • Assign or remove a user from a project through the project settings
  • Configure the project's email notification settings

Keep in mind that any user with this permission will be able to see all projects in your account, even if they are not assigned to the said project, and be able to access project settings. However, they will not be able to see things such as activity, messages, tasks, assignments, etc.

While they have the ability to assign or remove users from a project, they can't access a user's data and don't have the ability to invite, remove (from your account), deactivate, or edit a user.

Manage users

This permission unlocks the Users item in the account level menu.

Users with this permission can:

  • Change a user's name
  • Change a user's email
  • Assign or remove users to a project
  • Change a user's role
  • Send a password reset email
  • Activate or deactivate a user
  • Delete a user from your account
  • Invite a user to your account

Manage roles

This permission unlocks the Roles item in the account level menu.

Users with this permission can:

  • Create, edit, delete, duplicate, activate, and deactivate a role
  • Edit role permissions without restrictions

Technically speaking, assigning this role to someone is akin to giving them admin privileges since they can edit their own role to have all permissions available to them, so be careful with who you enable this permission.

Note: the account owner will always have this privilege by default regardless of the permission.

Manage integrations

This permission unlocks the Integrations item in the account level menu.

Users with this permission can:

  • View all website integrations (but not view keys)
  • Create an API key
  • Regenerate an API key
  • Delete an API key

Project permissions

Manage workflow

This permission unlocks the Workflow item in the project level menu.

Users with this permission can (only in projects they're assigned to):

  • Create, edit, and delete a workflow status
  • Assign a workflow status to a certain role (require action from a certain role)
  • Create, edit, and delete a grading criterion

Manage categories

This permission unlocks the Categories item in the project level menu.

Users with this permission can (only in projects they're assigned to):

  • Create, edit, and delete a category

Manage templates

This permission unlocks the Template item in the project level menu.

Users with this permission can (only in projects they're assigned to):

  • Create, edit, delete, rename a template
  • Create, edit, delete a template tab
  • Add and delete fields

Manage files

This permission unlocks the Files item in the project level menu.

Users with this permission can:

  • View, delete and download all files in a project they're assigned to

Manage people and deadlines

Users with this permission can (only in projects they're assigned to):

  • Assign users to a task or assignment
  • Change or set a deadline

However, on its own, this permission does nothing. Sure you can assign people to stuff but where would you assign them if you can't view the list of tasks and assignments available in a project? Therefore, to make the most out of it, it's often activated with View TasksManage Tasks, and View all assignments permissions.

Manage documentation

This permission allows a user to manage a project's documentation or help page.

Users with this permission can (only in projects they're assigned to):

  • Edit an individual project's documentation in the Help section
  • Create, edit, delete help articles and categories

Tasks

View tasks

This permission unlocks the Tasks item in the project level menu.

Users with this permission can:

  • View all tasks in a project they're assigned to (read-only mode)

While it allows viewing the tasks, a user with only this permission can't do anything else. This is often combined with Manage people and deadlines (allows assigning people to tasks).

However, if a user with this permission is assigned to a role that is associated with the Writing workflow status they will be able to claim tasks (but not edit or create new ones).

Manage tasks

Users with this permission can:

  • Create, edit, delete, import, and export tasks

Activating this permission automatically grants a user everything in the View tasks permission, therefore, it's unnecessary to activate both Manage tasks and View tasks permissions at the same time, but there are no consequences for doing so.

This permission is often combined with Manage people and deadlines (allows assigning people to tasks).

Assignments

View all assignments

Users with this permission can:

  • View all assignments in a project they're assigned to (read-only mode)

A user with this permission will be able to see an assignment's content, as well as its metadata, the users assigned to it, deadline, and current workflow; however, everything is on read-only mode. They won't be able to edit anything. This will also change the Recent project activity widget in the project dashboard to show all activities that happen in the project.

Manage assignments

Users with this permission can:

  • View all assignments in a project they're assigned to
  • Edit an assignment's text, SEO metadata, and any other custom fields it may have
  • Change an assignment's workflow status (but not change who is assigned to a particular workflow status)

A user with this permission doesn't need the "view all assignments" permission since it's already included in this permission. However, there's no harm in having both activated for a user.

Publish assignments

Users with this permission can:

  • Publish an article directly to WordPress or other external systems

Users with this permission need to be assigned to an assignment and be responsible for the workflow stage to be able to utilize the said permission.

For example, if you are assigned to the workflow "Approved for publishing" and an assignment's current status is just that and you have this permission, a new button (Publish to WP or similar) will appear at the bottom of the content editor's page.

Keep in mind that you can publish an assignment to an external platform regardless of the article's workflow status here in EasyContent.

For example, even if an article is in Writing status, if the user responsible for this status has this permission, they can press the Publish to WP button and the article will go live on your WordPress site.

Hence, some consideration must be kept in mind when assigning this permission to someone in your team. Wouldn't want a half-baked article going out to the public by accident, would we?

In addition to that, using this option to publish articles to WordPress or other systems won't change an article's workflow status here in the app. You still have to manually mark an item as completed or whatever custom status you want to set after publishing it to WordPress.

Reports

View publishing calendar

This permission unlocks the Calendar item in the project level menu.

Users with this permission can:

  • Access the publishing calendar page of a project they are assigned to.

This permission is often combined with manage people and deadlines permission to let users access the calendar, see article due dates, reassign people, and update workflow statuses directly from within the publishing calendar. Note that with only these two permissions available for a user, that said user will only see assignments that have a due date on at least one of its workflow statuses. Assignments that don't have a due date won't appear in the publishing calendar at all even if it's already marked as completed.

View all correspondence

This permission unlocks the All Messages item in the project level menu.

Users with this permission will:

  • Be able to see everyone's messages in a project they're assigned to.