Using the Content Editor
In this article, we're going to take a look at the content editor, where most of your time will probably be spent.
This article will cover the entire content editor page, including the widgets and other tools that are not directly used for editing articles or content text. If you need help with using the text editor, we have a dedicated article for it, which covers it in more depth.
The content editor page is divided into three main sections.
The first section (#1) is the text editor.
The second section (#2) is the sidebar which holds multiple widgets that are used to manage attributes and metadata of the current article.
The third section (#3) is the actions section which holds the buttons to submit, approve, save draft, send back, or publish an assignment.
Let's take a look at these three sections in more detail.
Table of Contents
The first and probably the area where most of you will spend the most time in the app, the text editor, is where you can create, edit, and delete your article's content. It's based on TinyMCE so if you've used WordPress, Joomla, or other major CMS before, or any online text editor, you should already be able to use it flawlessly.
You will notice that there are two tabs here: Text and Meta data & Files.
This area can be customized using Templates, which allows you to create custom tabs and customize the default ones.
Meta data & Files
The second tab, Meta data & Files, contains fields that are mostly used for SEO and CMS integration.
At the bottom of the meta data & files tab is the "Attached files" section.
This is where all of the current assignment's multimedia files reside. You can drag and drop items from your computer to this area to automatically upload them or you can use the Choose files to upload button. You can also download all files using the Download all article files button.
You can access a file's information if you hover your mouse on it. You will see the file's name, upload date, uploader name, and file size. Additional buttons for deleting and downloading the file will also appear.
Note that only the files directly uploaded to the assignment will appear. You can't use or access files uploaded to a different assignment.
The sidebar is located on the right side of the page. It has multiple widgets that contain useful information about the current assignment along with the tools that allow you to change the assignment's workflow status, view its revisions, and others.
By default, there are four widgets in the sidebar: messages, assignment details, workflow status, and revision history.
The messages widget will only appear if you've received at least one message regarding the assignment.
If a user has the View all correspondence permission, they will be able to see all messages that were sent and received regarding the assignment, not just the ones they've received.
This widget displays some information regarding the assignment such as the task name, keywords, and notes.
You can highlight keywords in the assignment's text by clicking the "Highlight in text" link. This will allow you to quickly see how many times the keywords were used in the article.
Keywords not found in the text will be highlighted in red, while the ones found will be highlighted in green just like the example below.
This will help you optimize your content by allowing you to quickly see if the keywords are used accordingly.
Workflow Status Widget
The workflow status widget displays the current status of the assignment.
If the user viewing the assignment has the manage people and deadline permission, the people and deadlines link, which is shown in the bottom-left part of the widget will appear. This will allow the said user to reassign people and change the workflow status deadlines of the said assignment.
The change workflow status link, on the other hand, will only appear if the user viewing the assignment has the manage assignments permission.
Revision History Widget
The revision history widget contains the revision records of an assignment. This allows you to restore an assignment to its previous state with a single click. You can also preview (eye icon) or delete (trash can icon) a revision if you want.
A numbered revision is created every time you hit the save draft or submit buttons. There will also be autosaved revisions that will automatically be created on a periodic basis. Only the 10 most recent auto revisions and 8 most recent numbered revisions will be kept.
You can compare two revisions through the checkboxes. When you have 2 revision items selected, the Compare selected button will appear near the top of the revisions widget.
This will show you the differences between the two revisions. The deleted text will be highlighted in red while the new text will be highlighted in green.
The last section of the content editor page is the actions section.
This is where the buttons to send back, approve, submit, publish or any other related actions for the article resides.
Depending on the assignment's current workflow status and the permission of the current user viewing it, the buttons appearing here will vary.
The example image above is how the actions area will appear to someone with all permissions active viewing an article in the editorial review status in a project that's connected to a WordPress website... or in other words, an admin viewing an article in editorial review within a project that's connected to a WordPress site.