Mailbox

In this article, we'll take a look at the Mailbox page.

This page allows you to view, send, and receive messages to other people in a project.

Each project has its own mailbox. You can't send a message to someone if you don't belong in the same project, even if both of you are under the same account.

If you have unread messages, you will see a notification badge in the Mailbox menu item in the project level menu like the one below. The number indicates how many unread messages you have.

You may have noticed that clicking the Mailbox menu item doesn't take you to the mailbox page Doing so will, instead, show a quick preview of the most recent messages you've received.

From there, you can click "Mark all as read" to dismiss the notification badge or go to the mailbox page itself by clicking the "Go to mailbox" button.

Sending Messages

To send a message, click the New Message button under the Actions widget located on the left side of the page.

This will reveal the Compose message screen (shown above).

Under Please choose recipients, you can select multiple users by holding CTRL or COMMAND then left-clicking the names you want to message. You can also use the Project Team widget to select people to message.

You can select an assignment in the Regarding field. You'll typically use this if you want to message someone about a particular assignment.

Selecting an assignment will change the list of recipients to display only those who can access or is responsible for one or more workflow stages of the selected assignment.

Viewing Your Inbox & Sent Mail

When you access your mailbox via Mailbox > Go to mailbox from the project level menu, you'll automatically be redirected to the inbox. Alternately, you can click Inbox under the Navigation widget on the left side of the mailbox page to view your inbox if you're already on the page but not in your inbox. To view your sent mail, simply click Sent mail located just under Inbox.

Deleting Messages

To delete a message, simply click the trash icon of the corresponding message you want to delete.

You can also batch delete messages by using the checkbox and then clicking delete.

If you want to delete everything, you can use Clear inbox or Clear sent mail links. This will automatically delete all messages from either your inbox or sent mail.

   

Note that deleted messages can't be recovered.

Replying to Messages

To reply to a message directly, click the reply icon beside the delete icon of the corresponding message:

You can also reply to a message while viewing it by clicking the green reply button at the bottom of the message: