Workflow

This article will teach you about Workflow settings

This Workflow page can be accessed via the project-level menu, under Configuration.

You will be taken to the page that looks like the one below.

This page is divided into two sections. The first section is the workflow settings itself and the second section is the rating settings.

Workflow settings

Always remember that every project has its own workflow settings. If you've created a custom workflow status in Project A, it won't appear in Project B.

Every project will have four default workflow statuses: draft, editorial review, approved for publishing and completed.

Editing a Workflow Status

You can edit a workflow status by clicking edit.

This will change the UI to enable you to make changes to it.

You can change a status's name, description, select responsible roles, set an auto due date, or make it read-only. You can also change its color by clicking the circle next to its name.

Read-only Workflow

When an item is under a read-only workflow status, no one will be able to edit its content. The role assigned to this status will still be able to approve or reject the item as well as provide feedback after approval.

However, adding comments is still possible.

Creating a New Workflow Status

To create a new workflow status, click the add new status button.

This adds an empty field for your new workflow status.

You can set (from left to right) the name, description, responsible role, auto due date, and read-only options.

Next to the status name, you'll see, by default, a grey circle. This is the workflow status' color code. You can change this by clicking the circle and selecting a color from the color picker.

Additional Settings

The additional settings provide you more options over your items whenever they reach certain workflow statuses or if you have a WordPress site connected to the project.

The first option only works when a WordPress site is connected to the project the content item is in. When this is enabled, the "Publish to WP" option automatically sets an item's status to Completed or to whatever the name of your final workflow status is, regardless of the item's current status.

For example, if an item is under Editorial review and a user with enough permissions published the item to WordPress, the item's status will instantly be set to Completed.

The second option allows you to disable asking reviewers to leave written feedback to the writer whenever they approve an item. More information about this is covered in the next section.

Ratings

Ratings allow your reviewers to rate items after approving them. By default, there are three criteria, all of which are enabled for the Editorial review workflow status.

A user responsible for this status will be asked to leave a rating for each defined criteria after approving an item.

Using the above as an example, when a user responsible for the editorial review status finishes reviewing the item and clicks the approve button, a dialog box will appear, prompting them to grade it based on the categories defined on the workflow page.

You may have noticed that you can drag and drop a criterion using the hamburger icon to rearrange them in the workflow settings page. Doing so will also change the order of their appearance in the feedback dialog window.

Editing a Rating Criterion

Editing a criterion is similar to editing a workflow status. Click the rating's corresponding edit button and the UI will change to allow you to make changes.

From left to right: you can modify the rating's name, description, and associated workflow status.

Creating a New Rating Criterion

To create a new rating, click the Add new field button.

A new empty field will appear that will let you create your new rating.

Give your new criterion a name and description and then assign it to a workflow status, click save and you're done.

Now, why don't you learn about roles next so you can assign the correct roles to the correct workflow statuses and ratings?