The Briefs page contains all content items that are waiting to be claimed or assigned to someone. Think of it as a project's "to-do" list.
If you want to learn how to import briefs via CSV, check out this article.
Below is what a typical briefs page looks like.
- Search & Category/Template Filter - used to refine what's displayed on the table.
- Add brief - used to add a new brief. Note the three-dotted menu beside it. Clicking the three-dotted menu reveals the import from CSV and import to CSV options. This allows you to import an external briefs list or export the current briefs list in CSV format.
- Briefs table - where all available briefs that are up for grabs are listed.
Let's discuss the briefs table in more depth.
- Title / Summary - describes what the brief is about.
- Description - the brief's description, if present. Hovering your mouse over it displays its entire content.
- Keywords - displays the brief's keywords, if there are any. Hovering your mouse over it displays its full content.
- Template - the current template assigned to the brief. Clicking it allows you to change the template if you have sufficient permissions.
- Categories - displays the brief's categories, if there are any.
- Action - tools for managing the brief.
- Claim - you'll click claim if you want to work on a brief. Doing so will assign you to its initial workflow status. Then, it will become a content item and be transferred to the Contents page. This button may or may not be visible depending on your role and permissions.
- Assign icon - allows you to assign someone to the brief. Its visibility is also affected by your role and permissions. Tip: can't assign a user that's supposed to be working on it? They probably have a custom role and that custom role needs to be assigned to a workflow status. Learn more here.
- Dropdown menu - contains two additional tools: Edit and Delete.
- Edit allows you to edit the brief's metadata such as the title, description, categories, keywords, etc.
- Delete permanently deletes the brief.
- These tools may or may not be visible to you depending on your role and permissions.
Who Can Access the Briefs Page?
Like many parts of the EasyContent app, an admin or the account owner can control who can access the briefs page and what they can do on it.
They can make it so that a user can see this page but won't be able to claim a brief or that a user can claim a brief but could not create a new one.
Anyway, a user with at least one of the following permissions will be able to access the briefs page:
- View briefs (lets users see this page and nothing else)
- Manage people and deadlines (lets users assign people to briefs and manage workflow deadlines)
- Manage briefs (lets users create, edit, import, or delete briefs)
A combination of these permissions can help you fine-tune how someone can access and modify items on this page.
Help I Can't Claim Briefs!
If you can't claim a task when you're supposed to be able to, contact your admin or account owner. If you're one of the latter two, please check this article to fix this problem.